Missouri Governor's Prayer Breakfast

The Missouri Governor’s Prayer Breakfast is an annual observance welcoming participants from around Missouri at the beginning of the General Assembly’s legislative session.  The Prayer Breakfast is an interfaith event for all leaders and citizens of our state.  Its purpose is to seek God’s guidance for our political leaders as they begin the legislative session.


Proceeds from the Missouri Governor’s Prayer Breakfast support the Governor’s Student Leadership Forum on Faith and Values. The forum brings together select Missouri college juniors for a three-day study of faith and leadership. Participants explore the role faith has played in the lives of business executives, sports figures and government officials.

In 1990, several national political leaders, including Missouri Governor John Ashcroft, established the first annual National Student Leadership Forum. The national event served as the catalyst for similar events held in 28 states.  Missouri was the second state to establish such a forum.  Jefferson City businessman Clyde Lear has organized the Governor’s Student Leadership Forum since its inception.


The Missouri Governor’s Prayer Breakfast was established in the 1950s as an extension of the National Prayer Breakfast, which was first held in 1953. 

Recent keynote speakers

2020 Ben Carson, United States Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

2019   Sheriff Vernon Betts, City of St. Louis

2018   Rev. John Lindell

2016   Aeneas Williams, former NFL player

2015   Les Steckel, president and CEO of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes

2014   Hal Donaldson, co-founder and CEO of Convoy of Hope, Springfield, Missouri 

2013   David L. Steward, inspirational author and the founder and CEO of World Wide Technologies

2012   Pastor Randy Gariss, College Heights Christian Church, Joplin, Missouri 

2011   Mel Tjeerdsma, Head Football Coach at Northwest Missouri State University

2010   Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals

2009   Catherine Hanaway, U.S. Attorney for Eastern Missouri 

2008   Father Mike Coleman, Catholic Diocese of Jefferson City, Missouri 

2007   John Ashcroft, former U.S. Attorney General, U.S. Senator and

2006   Mark Earley, Prison Fellowship President

2005   Bob Holden, Governor

2004   Jean Carnahan, former U.S. Senator from Missouri 

2003   Elson Floyd, University of Missouri President

2002   Ike Skelton, U.S. Representative
 from Missouri 

2001   Roger Wilson, Missouri Governor

2000   Paul Simon, former U.S. Senator from Illinois